New London County Clerk Office

Find New London County Connecticut clerk offices, including county, city, and circuit clerks, and clerks of court. Clerks provide information on public court records and legal documents, criminal, jail, and arrest records, marriage licenses, divorce, judicial, and probate records, businesses liens, notary services, real estate taxes and voter registration services.

Franklin Town Clerk 7 Meeting House Hill Road Franklin CT 06254 860-642-7352

Groton City Clerk 295 Meridian Street Groton CT 06340 860-446-4102

Lebanon Town Clerk 579 Exeter Road Lebanon CT 06249 860-642-7319

Ledyard Town Clerk 741 Colonel Ledyard Highway Ledyard CT 06339 860-464-3257

New London Clerk 112 Broad Street New London CT 06320 860-443-8343

New London County Clerk 1 River Road Bozrah CT 06334 860-889-2689

Norwich City Clerk 215 Broadway Norwich CT 06360 860-823-3732

Old Lyme Town Clerk 52 Lyme Street Old Lyme CT 06371 860-434-1605

Stonington Town Clerk 152 Elm Street Stonington CT 06378 860-535-5060

Voluntown Town Clerk 115 Main Street Voluntown CT 06384 860-376-4089

Waterford Town Clerk 15 Rope Ferry Road Waterford CT 06385 860-444-5831

Clerk Offices Near Me

About Clerk Offices

What fees does a Clerk charge?

State law generally enables Clerks to recover a portion of their transactional costs, and some states regulate the fees that Clerks may charge. Most permits and licenses issued by Clerks carry a set fee. Land transaction filings typically carry a base fee plus an additional per page charge. It is common for Clerks to also charge a per page fee when providing copies of documents to the public.

Do Clerks collect taxes?

Clerks do not collect taxes. Tax collection is usually handled by a separate office established for that purpose. Some Clerk's Offices may accept tax payments as a convenience to the public.

What are the requirements to become a Clerk?

In some jurisdictions, the Clerk is an elected position, while in others the Clerk is appointed. Most Clerks have a college degree and at least some professional experience. Some counties and local governments require that the Clerk have or obtain a Certified Municipal Clerk designation.