04648 Clerk Office

Find 04648 clerk offices, including county, city, and circuit clerks, and clerks of court. Clerks provide information on public court records and legal documents, criminal, jail, and arrest records, marriage licenses, divorce, judicial, and probate records, businesses liens, notary services, real estate taxes and voter registration services.

Washington County Clerk 83 Court Street Machias ME 04654 7.3 miles from 04648

Machias Town Clerk 12 Main Street Machias ME 04654 7.8 miles from 04648 207-255-6621

Machiasport Town Clerk 8 Unity Sq Machiasport ME 04655 9.4 miles from 04648 207-255-4516

Sullivan Town Clerk 1888 U.s. 1 Sullivan ME 04664 32.0 miles from 04648 207-422-6282

Eastport City Clerk 78 High Street Eastport ME 04631 34.0 miles from 04648 207-853-2300

Bar Harbor Town Clerk 93 Cottage Street Bar Harbor ME 04609 35.8 miles from 04648 207-288-4098

Ellsworth Clerk 50 State Street Ellsworth ME 04605 41.7 miles from 04648 207-667-7176

Hancock County Clerk 50 State Street Ellsworth ME 04605 41.7 miles from 04648

Orono Town Clerk 59 Main Street Orono ME 04473 55.0 miles from 04648 207-866-2556

Clerk Offices Near Me

About Clerk Offices

What fees does a Clerk charge?

State law generally enables Clerks to recover a portion of their transactional costs, and some states regulate the fees that Clerks may charge. Most permits and licenses issued by Clerks carry a set fee. Land transaction filings typically carry a base fee plus an additional per page charge. It is common for Clerks to also charge a per page fee when providing copies of documents to the public.

Do Clerks collect taxes?

Clerks do not collect taxes. Tax collection is usually handled by a separate office established for that purpose. Some Clerk's Offices may accept tax payments as a convenience to the public.

What are the requirements to become a Clerk?

In some jurisdictions, the Clerk is an elected position, while in others the Clerk is appointed. Most Clerks have a college degree and at least some professional experience. Some counties and local governments require that the Clerk have or obtain a Certified Municipal Clerk designation.