Cimarron Court

Find Cimarron Kansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Cimarron District Court 300 South Main Street Cimarron KS 67835 620-855-3812

Cimarron Municipal Court 119 South Main Street Cimarron KS 67835 620-855-2215

About Cimarron Courts

Courts in Cimarron, KS are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Gray County and Kansas law and are housed in Gray County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Cimarron Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Cimarron Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Cimarron court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Cimarron court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Cimarron background checks
Cimarron Court Records

Cimarron court records are available to the public at the Gray County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Cimarron Courthouses.

Cimarron Trial Courts

Cimarron Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Cimarron are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Cimarron Probate Courts and Cimarron Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Cimarron, Kansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Cimarron Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Kansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Cimarron Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Kansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Kansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Kansas Supreme Court.