San Diego County Court

Find San Diego County California courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Chula Vista Superior Court 500 3rd Avenue Chula Vista CA 91910 619-691-4726

El Cajon Superior Court 250 East Main Street El Cajon CA 92020 619-441-4336

Kearny Mesa Traffic Court 8950 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard San Diego CA 92123 858-694-2066

Ramona Superior Court 1428 Montecito Road Ramona CA 92065 760-738-2400

San Diego Criminal Court 220 West Broadway San Diego CA 92101 619-531-4420

San Diego Juvenile Court 2851 Meadow Lark Drive San Diego CA 92123 858-694-4601

San Diego Superior Court 330 West Broadway San Diego CA 92101 619-531-3239

Vista Superior Court 325 South Melrose Drive Vista CA 92081 760-726-9595

About San Diego County Courts

Courts in San Diego County, CA are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local San Diego County and California law and are housed in San Diego County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In San Diego County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In San Diego County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • San Diego County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing San Diego County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • San Diego County background checks
San Diego County Court Records

San Diego County court records are available to the public at the San Diego County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at San Diego County Courthouses.

San Diego County Trial Courts

San Diego County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in San Diego County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include San Diego County Probate Courts and San Diego County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in San Diego County, California

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in San Diego County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

California Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. San Diego County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in California are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in California state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the California Supreme Court.