Arbutus MD Public School

Find Arbutus, Maryland public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Arbutus Middle School 5525 Shelbourne Road Arbutus MD 21227 410-887-1402

About Arbutus Public Schools

Arbutus Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Arbutus, MD. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Maryland, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Arbutus Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Arbutus school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Arbutus School District

Arbutus Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Arbutus school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Baltimore County district. While the Maryland State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Arbutus school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Arbutus Public Schools

Arbutus Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Arbutus Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Arbutus Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Arbutus High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Arbutus

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Arbutus Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Arbutus Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.