Desha County Court

Find Desha County Arkansas courts and courthouses, such as federal, state, district, superior, criminal, common, circuit, judicial, judiciary, divorce, appeals, family, traffic, and small claims courts. Courts provide information on legal cases, law documents, case searches, and appeals.

Dumas District Court 149 East Waterman Street Dumas AR 71639 870-382-6972

McGehee District Court 2412 Highway 65 McGehee AR 71654 870-222-3859

About Desha County Courts

Courts in Desha County, AR are government institutions that resolve legal disputes in accordance with local Desha County and Arkansas law and are housed in Desha County courthouses. Courts are divided into Criminal Courts and Civil Courts. In Desha County Criminal Courts, the government prosecutes a case against parties accused of breaking the law. In Desha County Civil Courts the Court resolves disputes between citizens.

You may contact Courts for questions about:
  • Desha County court records and judgments
  • Law documents, filings and case records
  • Appealing Desha County court judgments
  • Court calendars and dockets
  • Desha County background checks
Desha County Court Records

Desha County court records are available to the public at the Desha County Courthouse. Records vary by specific court, however, commonly requested public records include copies of court decisions, court filings and records, court dockets and calendars, people and background check information as well as criminal records.

About the US Court System

The United States Legal System is comprised of a Federal Court System and Fifty State Court Systems which hear cases at Desha County Courthouses.

Desha County Trial Courts

Desha County Courts, where cases are heard for the first time, are where both sides, the prosecutor and defendant present evidence to argue and support their versions of events. A jury usually decides the outcome of cases and a single judge presides over the court room.

Limited Jurisdiction Court

Limited Jurisdiction Courts in Desha County are typically limited to hearing only cases about small claims, traffic and driving violations, and misdemeanor offenses. Other courts of limited jurisdiction include Desha County Probate Courts and Desha County Family Courts.

Appellate Court in Desha County, Arkansas

Appellate Courts, or Courts of Appeal, hear appeals of decisions that are reached in Desha County Trial Courts. A judge or a panel of judges presides over the appellate process and decides the outcome of the trial rather than a jury.

Arkansas Federal Courts

Federal Courts are divided into Trial Courts and Appellate courts. Desha County Federal Courts are divided into Courts of General Jurisdiction and Courts of Limited Jurisdiction. General Jurisdiction Courts preside over all matters of cases, whereas Courts of Limited Jurisdiction are limited by their scope. Federal Courts in Arkansas are referred to as Superior Courts or District Courts and have jurisdictional authority over defined geographic areas.

Twelve Circuit Courts comprise the US Appellate Court System with the United States Supreme Court at its head. Appellate Courts in Arkansas state are similar to the Federal System, whereas multiple appellate courts hear cases within a defined geographic area, governed by the highest State Court, the Arkansas Supreme Court.