Public Schools in Russell County, Alabama

Find Russell County, Alabama public schools, including charter schools, k-12, elementary, middle, and high schools. Public schools provide information on tuition, school rankings, school enrollment, education, curriculum, classes, records, and teacher-student ratios.

Alternative Learning Center 91 Poorhouse Road Seale, AL

Central Heights Elementary School 2800 Dobbs Drive Phenix, AL

Central High School 2400 Dobbs Drive Phenix, AL

Ladonia Elementary School 9 Woodland Drive Phenix, AL

Meadowlane Elementary School 709 Meadowlane Drive Phenix, AL

Mt Olive Elementary School 454 Highway 165 Fort Mitchell, AL

Mt Olive Primary School 454 Highway 165 Fort Mitchell, AL

Oliver Elementary School 77 Longview Street Seale, AL

Phenix City Early Learning Center 1014 Ingersoll Drive Phenix, AL

Phenix City Elementary School 2307 South Railroad Street Phenix, AL

Phenix City Intermediate School 2401 South Railroad Street Phenix, AL

Ridgecrest Elementary School 1806 8th Place South Phenix, AL

Russell County High School 4699 Old Seale Highway Seale, AL

Russell County Middle School 4716 Old Seale Highway Seale, AL

Russell Elementary School 733 Railroad Street Hurtsboro, AL

Sherwood Elementary School 706 Idle Hour Drive Phenix, AL

South Girard School 521 Fontaine Road Phenix, AL

Westview Elementary School 1012 Ingersoll Drive Phenix, AL

About Russell County Public Schools

Russell County Public Schools are tuition-free, publicly funded schools that are legally required to accept and provide an education to all children from Kindergarten age through Grade 12 in Russell County, AL. Each of the fifty state constitutions includes a requirement for the provision of a Public School system, and each state, including Alabama, also has a compulsory education law that requires school-age children to attend school.

You may contact Public Schools for questions about:
  • Russell County Public School calendars
  • Admissions policies and enrollment
  • Russell County school district
  • Academics and school curriculum
  • School buses and transportation
Russell County School District

Russell County Public Schools operate within school districts which are separate entities responsible for administering Public Schools. Russell County school districts are led by boards or commissions who set policy for the district and appoint a Superintendent of Schools. Board and commission members may be elected by voters within the district, or in some cases may be appointed by the legislative body that serves the Russell County district. While the Alabama State impose frameworks and some minimum requirements for length of school year, teacher qualifications, curriculum and other elements of public education, the Russell County school district has significant latitude within these frameworks and the authority to manage the day-to-day operation of Public Schools.

Types of Russell County Public Schools

Russell County Public Schools are largely organized into three groups, each serving different grade levels. Russell County Elementary Schools typically serve students from Pre-K, Kindergarten or Grade 1 through Grade 5 or Grade 6. While all Public School districts begin Primary School by Grade 1, not all offer Kindergarten or Pre-K grades. Russell County Middle Schools cover Grades 6 or 7 through Grade 8. Russell County High Schools covers Grades 9 through 12. In small school districts, all grades may be served in one school. The completion of Grade 12 is generally considered to indicate student readiness for post-secondary education.

Specialized Public Schools in Russell County

Many Public School districts offer alternatives to traditional Public School structures, including Charter Schools and Magnet Schools. Russell County Charter Schools are Public Schools initiated by a parent or community group or organization to serve a special population or to provide special curricula or instructional practices. They are formed by a special charter or agreement with the school district that grants them additional flexibility in how they operate. Russell County Magnet Schools are Public Schools that offer a specialized theme or subject emphasis, such as science and technology, international and cultural studies, or the arts.