Texas Town & City Hall

Find Texas town & city halls. Town and city halls provide information on government agencies, boards, commissions, committees, departments, and elected officials.

Town & City Halls by County

Anderson County Angelina County Aransas County Archer County Armstrong County Atascosa County Austin County Bailey County Bastrop County Bee County Bell County Bexar County Blanco County Bosque County Bowie County Brazoria County Brewster County Briscoe County Brown County Burleson County Burnet County Caldwell County Calhoun County Callahan County Cameron County Camp County Carson County Cass County Castro County Chambers County Cherokee County Clay County Cochran County Coke County Coleman County Collin County Colorado County Comal County Comanche County Cooke County Coryell County Cottle County Crosby County Dallam County Dallas County Dawson County DeWitt County Deaf Smith County Delta County Denton County Dickens County Dimmit County Donley County Duval County Eastland County Ector County Edwards County El Paso County Ellis County Erath County Falls County Fannin County Fayette County Fisher County Foard County Fort Bend County Franklin County Freestone County Frio County Gaines County Galveston County Garza County Goliad County Gonzales County Gray County Grayson County Gregg County Grimes County Guadalupe County Hale County Hall County Hamilton County Hansford County Hardeman County Hardin County Harris County Haskell County Hays County Hemphill County Henderson County Hidalgo County Hill County Hockley County Hood County Hopkins County Houston County Howard County Hunt County Hutchinson County Jack County Jackson County Jasper County Jefferson County Jim Wells County Johnson County Jones County Karnes County Kaufman County Kerr County Kimble County Kinney County Knox County La Salle County Lamar County Lamb County Lampasas County Lavaca County Lee County Leon County Liberty County Limestone County Lipscomb County Live Oak County Llano County Lubbock County Lynn County Madison County Marion County Martin County Mason County Matagorda County Maverick County McLennan County Medina County Menard County Milam County Mitchell County Montague County Montgomery County Moore County Morris County Motley County Nacogdoches County Navarro County Newton County Nolan County Nueces County Ochiltree County Orange County Palo Pinto County Panola County Parker County Parmer County Pecos County Polk County Potter County Presidio County Rains County Reagan County Red River County Reeves County Refugio County Robertson County Rockwall County Runnels County Rusk County Sabine County San Augustine County San Jacinto County San Patricio County Schleicher County Shackelford County Shelby County Sherman County Smith County Starr County Stonewall County Sutton County Swisher County Tarrant County Taylor County Terry County Throckmorton County Titus County Travis County Trinity County Upshur County Upton County Van Zandt County Victoria County Walker County Waller County Ward County Washington County Webb County Wharton County Wheeler County Wichita County Willacy County Williamson County Wilson County Winkler County Wise County Wood County Yoakum County Young County

What do Town and City Halls do?

A town hall or city hall is a municipal government office or building that contains the offices of the mayor and city manager. It is also common to find the town or city hall building near the local library and post office. The town or city hall is also the location which holds board meetings and press conferences. Each town or city hall has specialized functions. Town and city halls are often the locations where people meet to protest or stage demonstrations.

In town and city halls the public can take care of municipal business tasks, such as seeking permits or licensing. City halls are staffed by clerks who accept fees for processing permits, licenses, and other services. Some town halls also include offices where people can pay taxes. Along with clerks, the city hall often houses individual offices for human resources, parks and recreation management, local courts and the city attorney. Town or city halls also usually have large specially-designed meeting rooms for city council meetings, board meetings, and press conferences. It is also common for town or city halls to include offices for utilities, public works, and sometimes police department headquarters. They may also include offices for community development, animal control, environmental issues and financial services.

Commonly asked questions about Town Halls and City Halls

Can citizens rent space at Town Halls and City Halls?

Many town halls and city halls have spaces that the general public can rent for special events. It's best to contact your local clerk to ask about the spaces for rent and the fees. It's especially common for residents to use historic city hall buildings for weddings.

What are the common duties that the mayor does at a Town Hall or City Hall?

At town halls and city halls, mayors help citizens with their concerns, preside over council meetings, and vote on issues. Mayors also work with local government officials. They also work with state and national government leaders, too. Most mayors use their city halls as the location for their speeches.

What is the difference between a Town Hall and a City Hall?

A town or city hall is a government building centrally located within a given jurisdiction. The designation as a town or city hall is determined by the place of the building in that town or city. A city has a larger population and is more densely populated than a town. Cities tend to incorporate more space, but towns grow slowly. And, a city hall usually includes more offices than a town hall, such as county administrative offices and local offices for state agencies.