Georgia Parks Department

Find Georgia parks and recreation department, including city and state park authorities, and systems. Parks departments provide information on local recreation facilities, city parks, state parks, activities, recreational land use, and sporting.

Parks Departments by County

Appling County Atkinson County Bacon County Baldwin County Banks County Barrow County Bartow County Ben Hill County Berrien County Bibb County Bryan County Bulloch County Burke County Butts County Candler County Carroll County Chatham County Chattahoochee County Chattooga County Cherokee County Clarke County Clayton County Clinch County Cobb County Coffee County Cook County Coweta County Crawford County Crisp County Dade County DeKalb County Decatur County Dooly County Dougherty County Douglas County Early County Elbert County Emanuel County Evans County Fannin County Fayette County Forsyth County Franklin County Fulton County Gilmer County Glynn County Gordon County Grady County Greene County Gwinnett County Habersham County Hall County Hancock County Haralson County Harris County Hart County Heard County Henry County Houston County Jackson County Jasper County Jeff Davis County Jenkins County Johnson County Lee County Liberty County Lincoln County Lumpkin County Macon County Madison County Miller County Monroe County Morgan County Murray County Muscogee County Newton County Oconee County Oglethorpe County Paulding County Peach County Pickens County Pierce County Pike County Polk County Putnam County Rabun County Richmond County Rockdale County Spalding County Stephens County Sumter County Tattnall County Taylor County Telfair County Thomas County Tift County Toombs County Towns County Troup County Union County Upson County Walker County Walton County Ware County Washington County Wayne County Wheeler County White County Whitfield County Wilkes County Worth County

What does a Parks Department do?

The parks department is a government agency that coordinates the organization and management of outdoor areas on a local, statewide or national level. In a typical parks department, employees are expected to maintain the grounds to ensure safe public access. A series of rules and regulations are designed to facilitate this process. Parks departments are also responsible for providing the public with information on local, city, state, and national parks regarding available activities, recreational land use, and athletic facilities on the grounds.

Commonly asked questions about Parks Departments

What type of activities are appropriate to do in my local park?

It depends on the park. Some are used primarily for sports, some contain playground areas meant for children, and others are open spaces meant for group activities and gatherings. Patrons may find any one or combination of these activities. Usually, there will be a sign indicating allowed activities, but if that is unclear, you can always contact your local parks department to check.

When can I use public parks?

The answer her also depends on the park. Different parks have varying hours, but the majority close at night and are open early in the morning. If you're caught loitering in a public park after it's closed, you may be fined for trespassing. Public parks usually have their hours of operation posted near major entrances.

Why are Parks Departments important?

Parks departments are important because they preserve and take care of our natural environment. This duty is vital for the preservation of the environment and the associated benefits it can provide people. Parks departments are essential for keeping our forests healthy and are beneficial for ecosystems. Parks departments also facilitate tourism, as many city, state and national parks are major attractions in the U.S. Many large parks, such as Central Park in New York City, the Grand Canyon, Yosemite and Yellowstone are public parks managed by parks departments. America's parks are an essential part of our national identity, and access to natural green space has both physical and emotional health benefits for people who are living in cities, towns and other developed areas.