Georgia DMV

Find Georgia DMV, BMV, bureau of motor vehicles, motor vehicle department, driver services, and title & tag agency. DMVs provide information on vehicle registration, driver licenses, and driver insurance, road driving tests, and driving permit exams.

DMVs by County

Appling County Atkinson County Bacon County Baker County Baldwin County Banks County Barrow County Bartow County Ben Hill County Berrien County Bibb County Bleckley County Brantley County Brooks County Bryan County Bulloch County Burke County Butts County Camden County Candler County Carroll County Catoosa County Charlton County Chatham County Chattahoochee County Chattooga County Cherokee County Clarke County Clay County Clayton County Clinch County Cobb County Coffee County Colquitt County Columbia County Cook County Coweta County Crawford County Crisp County Dade County Dawson County DeKalb County Dodge County Dooly County Dougherty County Douglas County Echols County Effingham County Elbert County Emanuel County Evans County Fannin County Fayette County Floyd County Forsyth County Franklin County Fulton County Gilmer County Glascock County Glynn County Gordon County Grady County Greene County Gwinnett County Habersham County Hall County Hancock County Harris County Hart County Heard County Henry County Houston County Irwin County Jackson County Jasper County Jeff Davis County Jefferson County Jenkins County Johnson County Jones County Lamar County Lanier County Laurens County Lee County Liberty County Lincoln County Long County Lowndes County Lumpkin County Macon County Madison County Marion County McDuffie County McIntosh County Meriwether County Miller County Mitchell County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Murray County Muscogee County Newton County Oconee County Oglethorpe County Paulding County Peach County Pickens County Pierce County Pike County Polk County Pulaski County Putnam County Rabun County Randolph County Richmond County Rockdale County Schley County Screven County Spalding County Stephens County Stewart County Sumter County Talbot County Taliaferro County Tattnall County Taylor County Telfair County Thomas County Tift County Toombs County Towns County Treutlen County Troup County Turner County Twiggs County Union County Upson County Walker County Walton County Ware County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Wheeler County White County Whitfield County Wilcox County Wilkes County Wilkinson County Worth County

What does the DMV do?

A department of motor vehicles (DMV) is in charge of processing vehicle registration, including tag replacement and sticker renewal, as well as overseeing driver's license testing and issuing permits and licenses. For new drivers who wish to obtain a license, the DMV administers both written exams and road tests. The DMV also records vehicle title transfers, unless your state has a separate government department which handles that task.

Commercial drivers must meet medical qualifications and background checks, and all drivers must pass a vision test, road test, and written exam before receiving a license. In most states, DMV offices require mandatory car insurance policies or insurance bonds before they issue or replace car registration documents. Commercial vehicles also need specialized insurance and bonding coverage. If you've been searching for a specific driver service but haven't found it under the name DMV, try looking under alternative names such as motor vehicle department or bureau of motor vehicles.

Commonly asked questions about the DMV

Do I need to make an appointment to register my vehicle?

Some DMV offices require appointments for car registrations, while others don't. It's best to contact your local motor vehicle department directly.

Which documents do I need in order to obtain a vehicle registration?

To receive a car registration certificate, you'll probably need to submit pollution and safety inspection certificates, odometer disclosure statement, and proof of insurance. You'll also need to provide a car title application accompanied by a bill of sale.

How many questions do I need to answer correctly on the written exam before I can take the driving test?

DMV offices in different states set various standards for passing their exams. As a general rule, in most states, you'll need to correctly answer at least 80 to 90 percent of the test questions before scheduling a road test.