Georgia Health Department

Find Georgia health departments, DOH, and health and human services. Health departments provide information on health insurance, affordable health care, public health, human services, women, children and family health services and issues.

Health Departments by County

Appling County Bacon County Baker County Baldwin County Banks County Barrow County Bartow County Ben Hill County Berrien County Bibb County Bleckley County Brantley County Brooks County Bryan County Bulloch County Burke County Camden County Candler County Carroll County Catoosa County Charlton County Chatham County Chattooga County Cherokee County Clarke County Clay County Clayton County Clinch County Coffee County Colquitt County Columbia County Coweta County Crawford County Crisp County Dawson County Decatur County Dodge County Dooly County Dougherty County Echols County Elbert County Emanuel County Evans County Fannin County Fayette County Floyd County Forsyth County Franklin County Fulton County Gilmer County Glascock County Glynn County Gordon County Grady County Greene County Gwinnett County Habersham County Hall County Hancock County Haralson County Harris County Hart County Henry County Houston County Jackson County Jasper County Jeff Davis County Jefferson County Jenkins County Johnson County Lamar County Lanier County Laurens County Lee County Lincoln County Long County Lowndes County Lumpkin County Macon County Madison County McDuffie County McIntosh County Meriwether County Mitchell County Monroe County Montgomery County Murray County Newton County Oconee County Oglethorpe County Paulding County Peach County Pickens County Pike County Polk County Pulaski County Putnam County Quitman County Rabun County Randolph County Richmond County Rockdale County Schley County Screven County Seminole County Spalding County Stephens County Stewart County Sumter County Taliaferro County Tattnall County Telfair County Terrell County Thomas County Tift County Toombs County Towns County Treutlen County Troup County Twiggs County Union County Upson County Walker County Walton County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County White County Whitfield County Wilcox County Wilkes County Wilkinson County Worth County

What does a Health Department do?

The responsibility of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is to provide affordable health care through health insurance regulation and in identifying and addressing health concerns in society. Health departments at the state and local levels conduct medical research to maximize efficient control of illness and disease. A health department produces guidelines for creating safe workplaces and homes, as well as information on good hygiene, fitness, and diet. It addresses specific concerns that threaten wellness, as well as protects consumers against unreliable or unaffordable health care.

Commonly asked questions about Health Departments

Does a Health Department deal with concerns related to food?

Yes, but more specific offices exist to deal with these issues separately. The DHHS is concerned more with regulation and healthcare services, where actual quality control and health safety guidelines fall to organizations like the EPA and the FDA.

Is all health insurance provided by private insurers?

No, certain health insurance plans provide care with public funding. Children, for example, are guaranteed health insurance. Additionally, measures like the Affordable Care Act and several other state health care bills mean that the government takes an active role in assisting those without insurance or the means to afford insurance.

What are the specific focuses of the Department of Health and Human Services?

Child care represents the most important domain of human health services. Supplemental nutrition programs, promoting parental responsibility, foster care, and adoption are just a few of the services provided by health departments geared towards making sure every child gets the care they deserve.